Skip to content

In the mood for mood boards

August 19, 2011

I got married three times to the same man, and obsessed over the mood and theme each time, so obviously I’m a little nuts. Which is why I’ve taken the liberty of making mood boards for two of my dearest friends, who are both getting married (yay!) next year.

I love mood boards. They a) sum up what you want in an event, b) explain to your vendors what you’re going for (and what they should be going for too), and c) eliminate unwanted advice or suggestions (ex. Well-meaning relative/friend: “You should have a butterfly release!” You: “Nope, see rice toss on my mood board.”)

My first friend, Mel, is a lawyer and is always on her Blackberry. All she wants to do is plan her wedding and talk about blue mason jars but she answers work emails instead. All the time. Despite the serious job, she is one of the silliest and most easygoing people I know. Even when she’s stressed, she’s cool. Her and her  lawyer-fiance want a fun, rustic wedding, with a periwinkle and aqua palette. They’re having their wedding reception in a tent by the bay, which really works for the vibe they want.

Mel’s Board

The second bride, Arunee, is a doctor (I know, I’m set with my doctor and lawyer friends) and a reluctant romantic. That means she hates the mush but loves the frills. She says she’s set on a classic, sophisticated, and muted wedding, but I think I know her well enough to know that she wants the feathers, the ruffles, and all that pink. But seeing that pink is a little overused these days, we’re going with mauve (a pinkish lilac) instead. I love this board – I think it’s romantic without being too whimsical, modern while not being too trendy. Just like Arunee.

A third friend, Gene, is also getting married next year and has made her own board with a blueberry palette. I may just make another one for her to look at; you can never have too many boards.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Arunee permalink
    February 11, 2012 12:37 am

    Hi animoy! Didnt know you have a blog! hehe
    Thanks again for the mood board, i super love it!
    And its true, I’m a reluctant romantic… you know me well hehe
    Will be seeing all the frills in the invite and dress! =)

Leave a Reply

